You Are Not Weak For Wanting Love

Thought Catalog

“Life isn’t a Nicholas Sparks novel,” my friend told me over lunch. “You have your whole life to be in love — now is the time to build your career, to adventure, to change your mind.”

I was talking about relationship plans and how they would tie in with all of the other, non-love things going on in my life. She believed, as so many people do, that assigning great importance to a relationship in one’s early-to-mid 20s is necessarily coming at the cost of a clear head and a direct path towards some vague notion of Greatness that the universe owes us. In her eyes, either my relationship falls perfectly in line with my varying life plans, or it must be excised like a cancer to allow me to fully spread my metaphorical wings.

(I don’t even like Nicholas Sparks.)

(Well, I guess you could say I like The…

View original post 923 more words

Leave a Reply

